My Favorite Looks from BET’s Black Girls Rock 2017

Hey Boo Hey! Last night I joined Black Twitter in watching BET’s Black Girl Rock! Every year I tune into the show and celebrate the powerful force that is the black woman! The Black Girls Rock awards were created by Beverly Bond in 2006 to celebrate black women who are trailblazers and change makers in their careers and communities. The show was packed with star studded moments that kept my eyes glued to the television. This years host was the amazing, incomparable Taraji P Henson! I will forever be a fan of Taraji because of her “around the way girl” personality.  There were awards presented to Yara Shahidi (Young, Black, and Gifted Award), Issa Ray (Star Power Award), Roberta Flack (Living Legend Award), Auntie Maxine Waters (Social Humanitarian Award and other amazing women. There were performances by Tasha Cobbs, SZA, Anthony Hamilton, and more. The show left me feeling empowered, and ready to do more in my community, and life in general.

Another reason I like to tune in is for the fashion of course! I think a red carpet correspondent would be a dream job. Check out some of my favorite looks from the event below!

img_1214
And this boys and girls is how you slay the red carpet! Host, Taraji P. Henson, did not come to play!

Black Girls Rock! 2017 - Arrivals
Whether young or old, everybody’s favorite girl Maxine Waters gave us a little shoulder action on the carpet.

img_1213
A picture of perfection, Yara Shahidi, rocked the carpet in a purple dress that was nothing short of adorable!

img_1211
Everybody’s favorite awkward black girl, Issa Rae, looked beautiful in this sheer, nude colored dress.

Black Girls Rock! 2017 - Arrivals
As if Ledisi’s performance wasn’t enough, this black dress stole the show!

img_1215
Dascha Polanco never lets me down! The red dress is quite the show stopper!

img_1216
Lovie Simone is such a gorgeous girl! I love this age appropriate look she rocked last night!

Black Girls Rock! 2017 - Arrivals
Everything about Anika Noni Rose’s look is a yes for me! The hair, the dress, the makeup! LOVE this!

Black Girls Rock! 2017 - Arrivals
Ty Alexander of Gorgeous in Grey hit the red carpet in my favorite print combination, stripes and floral!

Black Girls Rock! 2017 - Arrivals
Suzanne F. Shank looks so classy in this little white and black number. Yall know I love a ruffle!

2017 Black Girls Rock!
I think Elle Varner’s look is in my top 5 of the evening! I will be recreating this soon!

If you watch Insecure I’m sure you have a love/hate relationship with this handsome fella, Jay Ellis.

The Oh So Handsome Mack Wilds.
If you missed the show last night don’t worry! We all know BET is good for a rerun. Check your local listing for the next time it will air, and comment below which look from last night was your favorite!

All pictures are from Essence.com and the phographer’s names can be found here!

12 Comments Add yours

  1. I love you picks!!!! #blackgirlsrock

    Like

  2. Love these looks! Great read..

    Like

  3. Yasmine says:

    Issa’s dress is my fav! It fits her so well!

    Like

  4. Vivian Sinya says:

    #blackgirlmagic just love seeing the empowerment of black women being celebrated and televised. Great picks!

    Like

  5. Joy says:

    These were some great outfits!! Now it’s time for us to be part of that movement! Great post!!

    Like

    1. faithlasha says:

      YES! We rock too! Thanks Boo!

      Like

  6. Jeanne says:

    Dasha P and Issa Rae look amazing! This is a great roundup!!

    Like

  7. shalongillon says:

    Fashion has changed so much. It is amazing to know that even now it will change from what we are use to now. All these looks were amazing.

    Like

  8. Ashley says:

    Jay, Elle, and Issa for the win!

    Like

    1. faithlasha says:

      Yes ma’am! Elle’s look was my FAV!

      Like

Leave a Reply

