Baby You Summertime Fine

Hey Boo Hey! I don’t know about y’all but when school starts back I start to feel like summer is over. With the kiddos lined up at the bus stop, and Walmart’s aisles filled with pencils, paper, and backpacks I can’t help but feel like summer has come to an end. However, I am quickly reminded that summer is alive and well as soon as I walk outside. The temperature here in Arkansas is still in the 90s on most days and I’m left with the difficult task of trying to stay cool and still slay the day away. Since starting my blog I have become more confident and willing to wear things I’ve never worn before which has made putting together summer outfits more fun than ever. This year I’ve tried new colors, new trends, and even new silhouettes. Today’s look shows just how much I’ve stepped out of my comfort zone. As I’ve stated many times before, I am a firm believer that women should wear whatever they want as long as they make it work for their bodies. I have an apple shape, which means I carry a majority of my weight in my midsection. Because of my body shape, in the eyes of society I should never wear bodycon dresses and until recently I believed them.

img_1070

 When I saw this sheer floral kimono at Its Fashions I instantly fell in love. I am a lover of bright colors, and as you can see this kimono is very colorful. I knew I had to have it, but I had no idea as to how I wanted to wear it. After about a month of not wearing it, really not even remembering I bought it, I finally decided to try this kimono with a bodycon dress. I was nervous about the bodycon, but once I tried the entire look on together I was in LOVE! This look is the definition of summertime fine! I felt like I looked like a million bucks, and my confidence level instantly went up like 3 notches, lol. The cascading ruffle gives it a flirty flair, and the 3 buttons at the waist gives the illusion of an hourglass shape. I paired this look with silver accessories, my black envelope clutch, and block heels sandals. Although I am head over heels for this look, I honestly don’t think I would ever wear a bodycon alone. Something about the coverage provided by the kimono made me feel more comfortable. In my opinion, that’s what fashion is all about, being creative and finding what works for your body. I know there are a ton of plus sized beauties of all different body shapes out rocking bodycons, but that doesn’t mean that is what’s going to work for me.  I’m  still not going to go out and buy a million bodycon dresses, but I am now more open to giving them a try. The only way to truly slay an outfit is if you are comfortable in it. It doesn’t make you any less confident or body positive if you would prefer a skater dress over a bodycon, or a one piece swimsuit over a fatkini. Wear what makes you happy and comfortable.

Outfit Details: Kimono-Its Fashions| Dress-Rainbowshops | Shoes-Belk|

Photography By: Michael Johnson (@MikroMgmt)

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Alaine Cawthon says:

    Great post!!! Enjoyed reading!! I love the honesty about carrying weight in the mid section. Bodycon is not an easy feat. But you pulled it off with flare!! I’ve got to get that kimono!!!

    Like

  2. Cooooooooooooooooooooome all the way through highlight.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joy says:

    You wore that body Con! Looking very pretty as always!!

    Like

  4. So cute! Love the colors!

    Like

  5. Girl you better wear this bodycon! You look fab..

    Like

    1. faithlasha says:

      Thank you girl!

      Like

Leave a Reply

