The Curvy Fashionista Style Expo:Day 1 Recap

Hey Boo Hey! I spent the past weekend in ATL at the TCFStyle Expo, and I’m still floating on cloud 9 from the experience. This was my first time attending The Curvy Fashionista’s stellar event, and she can definitely add my name to the guest list under lifetime attendee! Anyone who truly knows me knows that I’m the largest girl in my circle of friends so this trip was very different from any other I’ve ever been on. I literally spent 48 hours in fat girl heaven! The room was filled with some of the most beautiful and fashionable plus size women I’d ever seen. Women of all shapes, sizes, and races gathered together for 2 days of panels, shopping, and girl empowerment! It was absolutely amazing!

I started day 1 by attending the invite only Blogger Brunch. I was in a room filled with some of the most influential plus size bloggers and many of my online girl crushes. The guest speaker was Natasha Eubanks of The YBF Daily! She discussed how she started her celebrity entertainment site, as well as all the highs and lows of building your brand. The conversation was very informative and left me feeling motivated and ready to do the work to take my brand to the next level!

img_0762
The creator of The YBF Daily, Natasha Eubanks
img_0750
At the Blogger Brunch with my Boo, Ashley @iamfabllis

After breakfast I attended the “Style Has No Age or Size” panel. The ladies on this panel were on point, ok! We discussed everything from being confident at any age, to how to clap back when you receive a backhanded compliment. All I can say is I hope I’m as fly and confident as them when I get into my mid 30s and 40s! After the panel, and snapping some pics with my fav bloggers, I headed to the expo hall to do some perusing of the vendors and to see the Hanky Panky Fashion Show.

img_0488
@wardrobe_oxygen, @suitsheelscurves, and @jenesaisquoithe
img_0486
@wardrobe_oxygen, @suitsheelscurves, @jenesaisquoithe, @therealsamplesize, and @grownandcurvywoman
img_0490
The Style has no Age or Size Panel
img_0783-2
Pictured with Georgette of @grownandcurvywoman!

The Expo hall was filled with plus size vendors! It was refreshing to be able to walk into a room and have so many shopping options! Some of the vendors included Rebdolls, Fashion to Figure, Courtney Noelle, and many, many more! The Hanky Panky fashion show was a total treat! They bought out their sexiest pieces, and their models were definitely ripping the runway! I’m still gushing over some of their items. For the first time in the expo’s history, Big and Tall fashion was included. There were vendors there that catered specifically to the men, a Big and Tall fashion show by MVP Collections, and a panel titled “The Rise of Big and Tall Fashion”. I sat in on the panel, and it was really good. The guys discussed some of the myths and stereotypes surrounding larger men, and also gave the ladies some advice on where and how to shop for the big man their life. This just goes to show, whether male or female, we can all learn from each other!

img_0741
The Hanky Panky Vendor Table
img_0528-1
MVP Collections fashion show!
img_0530-1
The Big and Tall fellas came to represent!
img_0519-1
The Rise of Big and Tall Fashion panel!

As night fell I rushed back to my room to prepare for the Ashley Stewart Networking Mixer. After such a fun, event filled day, it was nice to be able to let our hair down and break out some of our best moves on the dance floor! By the time I left the Mixer, I was dog tired so I retreated to my room to prepare for day 2!

img_0779
Heading to the Ashley Stewart Mixer with my Boos @simplycurvee and @enjoycurves
img_0759
This basically sums up our entire weekend, lots of laughs with this one!

Day 1 was a total success and had me filled with excitement and anticipation for Day 2! The best part of the event was getting to meet some of my online blogger boos and girl crushes. Below are some additional pics from day 1! Stay tuned for part 2 of my recap tomorrow!

img_0775-1
Pictured with @laposaprcioa
img_0756
Pictured with @styleoversize. This beauty had the sweetest spirit ever! A total doll!

img_0781
Pictured with @eclectickurves and @enjoycurves willing looking at the amazing pieces by Astra!
img_0780
It was such a pleasure to meet Crystal @sometimesglam the founder of Astra! Her line is amazing!
img_0785
I can’t even find the words to describe this one here! Nikki @iamnikkifree is EVERYTHING!! I will now be calling her Auntie Nikki!
img_0767
Can we say goals!?! I was so happy to meet the brains behind the Golden Confidence pool parties Essie Golden!
img_0764
Way before I ever thought to start my own blog I stalked this girls IG and blog everyday! She has always been so nice and encouraging, my big sister Shaina @outofthecorner!
img_0755
Pictured with plus size model and fashion influencer, Christina Mendez!
img_0749
Snapping pics on the Ashley Stewart pink carpet!
img_0511
Another lady I will now be calling Auntie,Maui Bigelow of @phat_girl_fresh!
img_0504
Essie Golden @essiegolden
img_0531
Name a trio better than these three! I’ll wait!
img_0502
I finally got to meet @theigwives! They were so sweet!

Be sure to check out the #tcfstyleexpo hashtag on IG for more pictures and videos of the event!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I love this recap. It was great meeting you!

    Like

  2. Joy says:

    Wha an epic blog and event!!

    Like

    1. faithlasha says:

      Thanks! I can’t wait until next year!

      Like

  3. Love this recap! Look like you had a good time..

    Like

    1. faithlasha says:

      I had an amazing time! Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

