Dark Berry, Sweet Juice

Hey Babes! This week’s post is a mixture of fashion and real life. I’ve been wanting to add more to my blog so I’m using this post as an opportunity to give my readers more than just information on where to shop. So here goes nothing…

One thing you all should know about me is that I love celebrity drama and gossip! That along with trash reality television is my guilty pleasure. So anything from The Shaderoom and Balleralert to Basketball Wives and Love and Hip Hop, I am completely tuned in. This week in the blogs I have been reading about the comments made by Kodak Black about dark skinned women and how he doesn’t like us. That triggered a lot of feelings in me and will be todays topic of discussion…my dark skin. Let me be the first to say I am not mad at Kodak Black for his preference. I am however offended by his delivery. I feel like I cant be mad at someone I wouldn’t date saying he wouldn’t date me, LOL. In all honestly we are even. In the words of Nene Leakes and Kandi Buruss, “we see each other!” Although my lack of  interest in him has nothing to do with his skin color, its still my preference so its basically the same thing. What upsets me about his comments was how they seemed to be filled with hate and malice. Having a preference is one thing, being disrespectful is another. Unfortunately colorism in the black community will be a lingering issue for years to come. Growing up my mother and father always made me feel beautiful. I was often given nicknames related to my skin tone and I loved it because they all made my skin color seem like a beautiful thing that I should be proud of. It wasn’t until I started school that it was brought to my attention that not everyone would see the beauty in my skin. I will not sit here and lie to you and say it didn’t bother me. It hurt my feelings and effected my self esteem tremendously. As a child it was hard to wrap my head around it because I couldn’t “fix” having dark skin. Call me fat, ok I can lose weight. Say my clothes are ugly, I’ll wear something different tomorrow, but I can’t take this skin off. Its mine, and I learned to love it!

All throughout my teens I was addicted to pink. I had pink everything! My clothes, shoes, backpacks, literally everything in my possession was pink.  All these years later and I’m still drawn to the color. I remember the first tube of lipstick I purchased was pink. I can still recall the cashier at Walmart looking at the tube and looking up at me like ” I know this color isn’t for you”, but I just smiled and said thank you as she handed me my bag. I wanted to say ” Yes ma’am my dark self will be rocking a pink lip with the rest of yall, is that a problem for you?” I opted out of causing a scene, and just smiled and walked away. As I’ve gotten older, not much has changed with my obsession of the color. This pink top is one of my favorite summer purchases so far. How many off the shoulder shirts does a girl really need? I’m not sure so I’ll just keep adding them to my closet. The color is gorgeous and the style is on trend, but my favorite thing about this top is the sleeves. The have elastic at the elbow, which makes the ruffles at the bottom of the sleeve flare out dramatically. I paired them with a very old pair of jeans I found while cleaning out my closet. I added some gold accessories and my cognac sandals to finish off the look. As I wrap this up I want to send a message to all my Dark Skin Divas out there…your skin does not make you ugly, unworthy, or less than! I have dark skin and I still have a family that loves me, a boyfriend that adores me, and friends who support me. Love those that love you and ignore those who don’t!

I hope you guys enjoyed todays post. I plan on doing more post about my life and opening up more so you guys can get to know me better. What topics would you like for me to discuss? Let me know in the comments below or email me at faithlashablogs@gmail.com.

Outfit Deets: |Top – Its Fashions (other pink options  here and here) | Jeans- I can’t remember | Shoes- Local Boutique (similar here)| Jewelry and Clutch- Citi Trends|

Photographer: MikRoManagement

8 Comments Add yours

  1. You look stunning!!

    Like

  2. I love this top! You look amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joy says:

    Love the blush pink top!! Very pretty!

    Like

  4. Ashley says:

    Great post! In the words of Tupac “the darker the berry the sweeter the juice, …the darker the flesh the deeper the roots!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. faithlasha says:

      Yes ma’am! Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

