New Year, New Goals

Happy New Year Babes! We made it to 2017 so let’s make it a good, no scratch that, a GREAT one! I know it doesn’t take a new year to start working on achieving your goals, but it’s something about it that just gives me that extra boost to do and be better. On Sunday my pastor’s sermon was titled “Ain’t Nobody got Time for That”, and it really spoke to me in regard to my plans for the New Year. The sermon was about making the best use of your time this year, and involving yourself only in things that evolve you. After listening to this I came up with 5 things I want to achieve this year to be the best me and to make myself an all-around better person!

dsc00021

1.Focus on my health

This is something I have planned on doing since I lost my parents to diabetes, but I always stray away from. I want to start by making small changes like taking the stairs at work instead of the elevator, and gradually changing my eating habits and working out regularly.

2.Be Kind(er)

You never know what personal battles people are fighting, so I want to start doing random acts of kindness. Rather it is something small like complementing a stranger on the street, or paying for the person’s food in line behind me in the drive thru. I want to do more to put a smile on other’s faces.

3.Educate Myself

I want to go back to school this year. I always hear people say your circle should inspire you, and mine definitely has. My close friends include teachers, engineers, hairstylists, even a doctor… these girls do it all! Therefore they have inspired me to get back in school and chase my dreams! I always said I wanted to go back and get a master’s degree and there is no time like the present, right?

4.Volunteer/Donate

I want to volunteer at least once a month. Whether it’s giving my time to at risk youth, or serving dinner at a homeless shelter, I need to do something that will benefit others and make me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

5.Go on a Trip Alone

Everyone needs some alone time to meditate and decompress. I would love to jump in the car and get away from it all. Maybe spend a day in a nice hotel, go to a spa, and treat myself to a nice dinner. For safety reasons, it probably will not be anywhere too far from home, but I would like to experience a weekend with just myself.

Putting this list together has made me excited for the New Year and all I want to achieve. Do you have any goals you want to achieve this year? Feel free to list them in the comment section!

Outfit Details: Fur Collar Sweater-Forever21 (sold out, similar here and here) Polka Dot Turtleneck-Kmart (sold here) Rust jeggings-Its Fashion Metro (similar here

Leave a Reply

