They Don’t Want Us To Wear White…

Can you guys believe its already September! We are in the midst of the last days of summer, and Labor Day Weekend is almost here, so you know what that means…the infamous all white party. I know what your thinking, “They say plus sized women shouldn’t wear white”. Well “they” also say we shouldn’t wear stripes, crop tops, or 2 piece swimsuits, but I’ve been seeing a lot of plus sized babes killing all of the above. In the words of the great DJ Khaled, they don’t want us to wear white, so we’re going to wear white!

Every year I get invited to an All White party, and realize I don’t have anything to wear. However,this year I got an early start and ordered this dress back in April (of course it’s sold out).As you guys know I ADORE peplums, so when I saw this dress I knew I had to have it! Fashion to Figure never lets me down when it comes to cute, affordable dresses, and this time was no different. I think I actually like the neck ruffle more than the peplum! It gives the dress a more dramatic feel. I paired it with some neon shoes and accessories to add a pop of color.

I know a lot of plus sized women are scared to death to wear white, but honestly its not rocket science! Now don’t get me wrong, I do agree white is not the easiest color to rock, but if you follow 2 simple rules you can come out as the white dress champ this weekend!

Rule #1: Pick Heavier Fabrics! I know its Summertime, and we are all looking for lightweight fabrics, but when it comes to white you CANNOT skimp on the fabric! Thin white fabric will magnify every dent, and dimple. Shapewear can’t even save you. They will show through thin fabrics, and no one wants that! This may mean you will have to spend a little more to make sure you have sturdier fabrics, but like “they” say, you get what you pay for.

Rule #2: Good Foundation Goes a Long Way! As plus sized women we often times get called a “brick house”, well like any other house this one needs a good foundation, a.k.a. shapewear!  Shapewear is not only for plus sized women. I know small women who wear it, and for good reason. It gives you a firm, and smooth look. White is already a magnifier, so you want to make sure everything is smooth, firm and you control come of the “jiggle” when out and about.

I hope this post is helpful to someone stressing about this weekend’s All White Party. Like any other outfit, confidence is key! Accept your body for what it is, and remember to always accentuate the positive. You never know, you may even learn to love the color. Ok “love” may be overkill, but at least you won’t decline your next party invite because of something as trivial as the dresscode.

Leave a Reply

