The Shop My Closet Challenge

Anyone who knows me knows that I like to buy a new outfit for ANY occasion. In my mind its easier to go in the store, find something new and put that on instead of looking in my own closet. This in addition to my impulse buying, usually results in me having a closet full of clothes with tags on them that I never wear. So I’ve decided to challenge myself to do more “closet shopping”. For the entire month of August I’m going to TRY to only wear items I have at home, or if I have to buy something new it must be under $15. Wish me luck! LOL

Have you ever seen something in the store or online and thought you HAD to have it only to look in your closet a few months later and realize you still haven’t worn it? I ordered these wedge gladiators(similar here) from Just Fab two months ago, and I still hadn’t worn them. I kept thinking of different ways to style them, but once I would get dressed I no longer liked how it looked. After a few times of that happening, I went to my holy grail for fashion inspiration…PINTEREST! All I had to do was search gladiator sandals outfit and VOILA! A plethora of pins of fashion forward ladies in perfectly styled outfits wearing gladiator sandals popped up.

The first picture that caught my eye was of Kourtney Kardashian in a white oxford shirt, some distressed Bermuda shorts, and a pair of gladiator heels. I was sold! I knew I wanted to try this out and add my own little twist to it. Only one problem… I wanted an oversized white oxford shirt, and I didn’t have one. I really wanted to challenge myself and wear items I already had in my closet so I put my brain to work and came up with a solution…shop my boyfriend’s closet! Sure enough he had exactly what I needed and I was on my way to the perfect outfit.

I basically wore the same pieces Kourtney wore, I just made one change to accommodate my body type. I did not completely tuck in my shirt. I am an avid believer that plus size women can wear anything, we just have to tweak it for our bodies. That is exactly what I did, and the half tuck worked perfectly! It gave me a  chance to give the outfit some shape and also cover my pudge. My distressed shorts are from Madrags. Unfortunately they don’t offer online shopping but you can find a similar pair here . I accessorized with a statement necklace, and a gold fringe crossbody (I tucked in the strap to make it a clutch). As we all know,but are saddened to admit, summer’s end is in the horizon and this is a great transition outfit.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Kelicia says:

    OMG!!!! Love it!!!!!

    Like

    1. faithlasha says:

      Thank you!!! 🙂

      Like

  2. Ashley Childres says:

    I love this look on you and your hair is the bomb😍!! Just start sending me your clothes! Lol! #ProudBestie🤗

    Like

    1. faithlasha says:

      Thanks Bestie!

      Like

  3. plusfabdmplz says:

    You just gave me something to think about #gladiatorheels, absolutely love your outfit

    Liked by 1 person

    1. faithlasha says:

      Thanks so much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

